What Xill version control does
The Xill version control (available in Xill IDE 3.6.0 and up) allows users to perform simple Git operations from within the Xill IDE.
The version control in the Xill IDE knows three operations:
Using Xill version control
To use xill version control the following steps should be followed.
- Set up a git repository
- Clone the git repository
- Import the git repository into the IDE as a project
Xill version control operations should now work for your repository.
The push operation will show all files that were changed and save these changes in the repository. To push the changes a commit message must be entered, this is a message that describes the changes that have been made.
Some symbols are used to display what kind of change has been made to the files:
Files of which the context has changed are displayed with an asterisk (*).
Files that were added are displayed with a plus sign (+).
File which were removed are displayed with a minus sign (-).
Not that files which are renamed will show up twice: once to show that the old file is removed, and once for the newly added file.
The pull operation will pull the head of the current branch. This means that the project will be updated to the newest version of the current branch.
Branches are a way of working on different parts of a project at the same time without these changes interfering with eachother. Changes made on one branch will not be visible on other branches, unless these branches are merged (combined) together.
The branches operation shows the user all branches that currently exist in the repository. The branch that is currently checked out will be printed in bold. To switch to a different branch, simply select that branch and then click the "Checkout branch" button.
The "Create branch" button allows a user to create a new branch. Simply enter a (unique) name for the new branch and click "Ok". You will then automatically switch to the newly created branch.
Some repositories are private or have read-only access for non-authenticated users. These repositories require an authenticated user to log into their account before any operation can be done on these repositories. When this is the case the following pop-up will show.
Now simply enter your username and password and the login will be complete. On a successful login these credentials will be remembered until the IDE is closed, so that they don't have to be entered again.